The Tradable Quality Hypothesis

Martin Fowler has written an excellent post on the fallacy that quality can be traded for expediency. A few days ago, I debated many of the points the article covers with an engineering manager at my company. Both of us are still convinced the other person is wrong. Except now, I have Martin Fowler on my side.

One Response to The Tradable Quality Hypothesis

  1. Explodicle says:

    Fowler makes an excellent point. I’ll have to remember to differentiate between internal and external quality next time I discuss this with someone.

    The last company I worked for had a motto I liked: “perfect quality wins customer loyalty”. And I don’t even work in software, where perfect quality can be actually attainable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

